Quick answer

Keema—also written kheema or qeema—means minced meat and can also name a spiced dish made from mince. Our Keema Peas is minced lamb with garden peas, herbs, spices and whole condiments. Keema Nan is nan stuffed with minced meat; the menu does not specify which meat is used in that filling.

Core meaning
Minced meat
Keema Peas meat
Lamb
Keema Peas price
£14.95
Keema Peas marker
Gluten-free
Keema Nan price
£5.95
Keema Nan meat
Not specified on the current menu

Does keema mean mince or a complete dish?

It can mean both. Collins English Dictionary defines keema as minced meat in Indian cookery and as a spicy dish containing minced meat. A Smithsonian foodways account similarly explains qima as a name for meat dishes made with minced or ground meat. These sources establish the broad meaning, not a particular animal or house recipe.

The word itself does not tell you the animal, heat level, spice mixture or cooking method. Those details must come from the individual description. At our restaurant, Keema Peas explicitly says lamb; Keema Nan only says minced meat. We do not fill that gap with an assumption.

What is Keema Peas?

Our Keema Peas is minced lamb cooked with garden peas, herbs, spices and whole condiments. It is a main course priced at £14.95 and marked gluten-free. No mild, medium-hot, hot or very-hot label is printed.

The combination makes the main ingredient and vegetable unambiguous, but the short menu description does not publish every herb, spice or condiment. “Whole condiments” is the restaurant’s own wording; it should not be converted into a speculative list. Check the live dine-in menu for current details.

Keema tells you the meat is minced; the rest of the dish name tells you how it is being served.

What is Keema Nan?

Keema Nan is our nan stuffed with minced meat, priced at £5.95. It is an accompaniment rather than the Keema Peas main. The current description does not state whether the mince is lamb, chicken or another meat, and it carries no dietary marker.

The separate plain Nan entry is described as leavened and cooked in the charcoal oven, but the Keema Nan line does not repeat those preparation details. We therefore do not transfer them as a house-specific claim. Keema Nan also cannot inherit the gluten-free marker from Keema Peas: shared vocabulary does not make two different dishes nutritionally equivalent. Compare the bread styles in our naan, roti and paratha guide and learn about the oven in our tandoor guide.

Are all minced-meat dishes called keema?

No. Kathmandu Kofta Makhanwala contains minced chicken or lamb meatballs, Seekh Kebab / Reshmi Kebab uses minced lamb or chicken on skewers, and Shak-Shu-Ka is garnished with minced lamb. None of those menu names uses “keema.”

Shape, cooking method and sauce distinguish them. Kofta forms the mince into meatballs in a rich tomato-and-cream sauce; the kebabs cook seasoned mince on skewers; Keema Peas keeps mince loose with peas. Read our kofta guide and kebab comparison for those branches of the menu.

How should you order keema?

Keema Peas can anchor a meal as the main. Add rice or an unfilled bread if you want its lamb-and-pea character to remain central. Keema Nan works differently: it adds meat to the bread course, so pairing it with another meat-heavy main may make the table less varied.

A vegetable dish or dal can add contrast beside either choice. Our ordering guide recommends balancing textures and ingredients rather than ordering several dishes that play the same role.

Why are their prices so different?

The prices reflect two different menu roles, not two sizes of the same dish. Keema Peas is a £14.95 main course built around minced lamb and peas. Keema Nan is a £5.95 bread accompaniment with a minced-meat filling. The menu does not offer side and main prices for either one.

If you want keema as the centre of dinner, choose Keema Peas. If you want an enriched bread beside another main, choose Keema Nan. Ordering both is possible, but it repeats minced meat, so a plain bread or vegetable accompaniment may create a more varied table.

What dietary information is printed?

Keema Peas is marked gluten-free. Keema Nan has no dietary marker, and its short menu line does not publish a full ingredient list. Neither item is marked vegetarian or vegan.

Do not transfer a marker from one item to another merely because both use the word keema. For an allergy, intolerance or coeliac disease, ask the team for current information and cross-contact guidance. That follows the Food Standards Agency’s emphasis on accurate allergen communication.

Common questions about keema

Is keema always lamb?

No. Keema means mince, not one animal. Our Keema Peas explicitly uses lamb; the meat in Keema Nan is not specified on the menu.

Is Keema Peas hot?

No heat label is printed, so a level should not be inferred. Ask the team if chilli sensitivity matters.

Is Keema Nan a main course?

It appears in the Breads & Rice section and is intended as a stuffed bread accompaniment.

Is Keema Peas gluten-free?

It is marked gluten-free on the current menu. Speak to the team about coeliac disease or cross-contact before ordering.

Source notes

Reviewed 19 September 2026. Where this guide mentions our restaurant, details are checked against the current dine-in menu. Wider cultural, historical and ingredient claims are checked against the cited sources below. How we research and correct our guides.